George & Ginger Pattern Co. : Fancy Back Collection

So I keep hearing how are these tops going work for women with curves. Well, I’m here to break that silence and give you the scoop on some of these most trendy, fashion-forward, sexeist women’s designs yet. You know those hard to find outfits that you can only find on the internet? You know those outfits where you would have to hack 3-5 designers, just to get that one look? Well, look no further.

Kristi Fitzpatrick Owner and Designer of George & Ginger Pattern Co. has taken those hard to find “Pins” and made them a reality. She really is a mastermind of ingenuity when it comes to designing. She listen to the mass and her customers while creating her upcoming designs.

So what am I talking about… lol, I’m talking about the Fancy Back Collection.

Blurp, in case you didn’t know, Kristi releases her designs as collections. It’s actually refreshing as we’re getting the latest women’s trends. Its not rushed and is thought out to give a variety for every women’s taste & needs.

& before delving into the collection, I just want to add a couple of things. Many people or should I say people with curves and multiple childern, messy bun, t-shirt stained, yoga pants moms question whether or not its worth the effort making something for themselves. Well, I’m here to tell you yes.. Yes it is! Prior to finding G&G I had the worst self-esteem and my confidence levels were at a low. I guess going to the department store and having to pick out clothing in the “old lady” section was kind of depressing. I could be that person that lies to myself as say.. “Yeah, I can fit into that top, even though it may not be flattering.” Well, that wasn’t me and for the past 5 years my wardrobe consisted of yoga pants and t-shirt… and the same pair of jeans! Needless to say I’m so glad I found G & G!

So the Fancy Back Collection consist of 5 tops! Out of the 5, I did 3 as that was the only time I could cram in some selfish sewing. Lol

Added Note: All of the tops I made are size 20

All tops are at its promotional price of $6.75 (USD) and will go to its regular price once the promotion is up. Bonus, if you would like all 4 tops that are for purchase you can do a bundle buy and save! You can find the bundle, HERE. Ok with that said the first of the 3 is my personal favorite Bowlicious Top!

Bowlicious Top:
Size 0-20
4 sleeve options: sleeveless, short, ¾ & long
2 cut lengths to account for height
V-Back
Layered Printing
No-trim pages
Printing options in A4 & A0
Easy taping
& Easy to follow step-by-step instructions

I made the ¾ sleeve with the longer cut length line. I know you’ve seen this fabric floating around Facebook, but I made this top using $1.50 knit from Walmart. It has a nice 2 way stretch and is very soft & thin, almost sweater like. I really love where it hits and could easily be paired with shorts in summer. For the bow I used woven as I didn’t want it to flop around. I’m sure you could use knit and add stabilizer to have the bow keep its shape. I also added a snap so I could detach it it when washing. From cut to finish this top took me all of  40 mins… that was with multiple interruptions.

20160225_16221720160225_162242(0)20160225_161854
Next is the Splitsville. So I’m no longer a low rise wearing jeans girl. I HAVE to have my jeans cover my gut…plain and simple. So I was pretty skeptical with this top as I was afraid all would be bared loose. Lol. Well that is not the case at all. The angle and curve of the top allow for an open back but still keeps those rolls hidden… Unless a big gust of wind comes!

Splitsville Top:
Size 0-20
4 sleeve options: sleeveless, short, ¾ & long
Color blocking option
Layered Printing
No-trim pages
Printing options in A4 & A0
Easy taping
& Easy to follow step-by-step instructions

I did short sleeve without the neckband, I just left it un-hemmed. I left the bottom un-hemmed as I like my shirts a little longer, I also figured since knit doesn’t fray it wouldn’t be a problem. I paired my Splitsville top with my Walmart jeggings that are pulled up nice and high (the way I like them!) lol

20160302_15514420160302_15515220160302_155217

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used $1.50 knit from Walmart. It is rather see through so if you using this type of knit the bonus tank would be perfect!

This top really is versatile. If you are still on the fence with this top. This will pair perfect with the free Bonus Tank. You can find it in the George & Ginger Pattern Group under files. If you do download, please do not share outside of the group. Tell people that they can get their copy by joining the group.

I have not made the Bonus Tank, but my guess from reading over the instruction, it looks like you could finish in 20 mins from cut to finish.

Bonus Top:
Size 0-20
Layered Printing
No-trim pages
Printing options in A4 & A0
Easy taping
& Easy to follow step-by-step instructions

If you’d like to see what some of the tester did with the top you can find it on the G&G Group page.

The last top I did is the Simply Ruched Top. I love this top as it blends those problem areas… well that’s my opinion! Lol While this does take up some fabric. I used my main fabric to be showcased & for the lining used a jersey knit bed sheet that I save specially for lining pieces.

Simply Ruched Top:
Size 0-20
4 sleeve options: sleeveless, short, ¾ & long
2 neckline lengths: regular & low back
Layered Printing
No-trim pages
Printing options in A4 & A0
Easy taping
& Easy to follow step-by-step instructions

As you can tell I’m a little obsessed with Wal-Mart’s knits section. This top could be paired with pants or shorts as this is another versatile top. I did the low back option without the added tie. I usually wear a tank top under most tops to give myself an extra layer of support. But with the lining piece I won’t have to wear one.

The last top that I haven’t had a chance to get to is the Twisty Top

Twisty Top:
Size 0-20
4 sleeve options: sleeveless, short, ¾ & long
V-Back
Layered Printing
No-trim pages
Printing options in A4 & A0
Easy taping
& Easy to follow step-by-step instructions

The tester knocked this out of the park! If you would like to see more of the Twisty Top, it can be found, HERE.

Sorry for the lengthy blog today! But if you haven’t started on your spring and summer wardrobe now is the perfect time to start. No excuses, I’m sure one has caught you eye… hopefully all! Lol

If you are not a member of the G & G follow the links below to stay up-to-date with all of G & G info.

Facebook business page
Facebook fan group
Etsy
Instagram
George & Ginger Blog

George & Ginger also has a blog that you can find hacks and tutorials on some of the free/purchased patterns by G &G. Make sure to take a look ❤

Hope you enjoyed today post. Make sure to share you creations on the George & Ginger Page! We/I would all love to see ❤

Peace, Love & Bedoo Bedoo

Sofia

Leave a Reply

